More and more details of the Platinum Jubilee are being released, as well as documentaries, beacon lighting and even a show on the Jubilee Pudding Contest. So keep checking here for a day-by-day list of where the royals will be, what to watch and when to view in Canada (hint: lots of events start really, really, early)

THURSDAY, JUNE 2: 

Main Event

Trooping the Colour (starts 10 am London, 5 am ET, includes balcony appearance after military ceremony and parade)

Only working royals will appear on the balcony of Buckingham Palace

WATCH: 

CBC TV, CBC News Network and the free CBC Gem streaming service (5 am – 8:30 am ET): hosted by Adrienne Arsenault, live from Buckingham Palace

OTHER EVENTS, COVERAGE, AND PROGRAMS

Lighting beacons across the Commonwealth (primary one lit at 9:25 pm London, 4:25 pm ET)

Ottawa: City Hall (ceremony starts at 8:45 pm)

Toronto: Casa Loma at 8:30 pm (dining reservations required)

Waterdown, Ont.: 35 Main Street (ceremony starts at 9:35 pm)

Illumination of buildings and landmarks (after dark)

Ottawa: federal buildings in the nation’s capital

Toronto: landmarks include the iconic Toronto sign at Nathan Phillips Square as well as the Princes’ Gate at Exhibition Plate

Jubilee Pudding: 70 Years of Baking (CBC Gem: streaming starts June 2): a competition to find a baking recipe to mark the Platinum Jubilee (60 minute program, 2022)

Elizabeth: A Portrait in Part(s) (Prime Video, streaming starts June 2): A documentary by Roger Michell (Notting Hill) that seeks to add a touch of affection and mischief to its look at the Queen. As Paul McCartney says in the trailer: “To us teenagers, she was a babe.”

FRIDAY, JUNE 3: 

Main Event

Thanksgiving service at St. Paul’s Cathedral (11 am London, 6 am ET)

The entire family is expected to be present

WATCH: 

CBC TV, CBC News Network and the free CBC Gem streaming service (5:30 am – 9 am ET): hosted by Adrienne Arsenault, live from Buckingham Palace

OTHER EVENTS, COVERAGE, AND PROGRAMS

Guildhall reception (12:25 pm London, 7:25 am ET)

Princess Anne in Edinburgh, Scotland and HMS Albion

The Queen and Canada (CBC Gem: streaming starts June 3)

“Is Canada duty or devotion for the Queen?” is the question being asked by this documentary that examines the relationship between Queen Elizabeth II and her northern realm. (60 minute documentary, 2022) 

SATURDAY, JUNE 4

Main Events

Epsom Derby race (5:30 pm London, 12:30 pm ET)

The Queen may appear at the horse race

Platinum Party (BBC concert starts 8 pm London, 3 pm ET)

The younger royals are expected to be in the audience in front of the palace.

OTHER EVENTS, COVERAGE, AND PROGRAMS

Prince William and Kate, Duchess of Cambridge, in Cardiff, Wales 

The Queen and Canada (CBC News Network: June 4 at 8 pm ET)

“Is Canada duty or devotion for the Queen?” is the question being asked by this documentary that examines the relationship between Queen Elizabeth II and her northern realm. (60 minute documentary, 2022) 

SUNDAY, JUNE 5: 

Main Events

Big Jubilee Lunch and street parties (all day)

Most of the royals should take part in a party or lunch  

Jubilee Pageant (2:30 pm London, 9:30 am ET)

The entire family is expected to appear. There are reports of a balcony appearance by the Queen and her heirs, including Charles, William and George.

OTHER EVENTS, COVERAGE, AND PROGRAMS

The Queen and Canada (CBC News Network at 7 pm ET and CBC Network at 9 pm local time, 9:30 NT)

“Is Canada duty or devotion for the Queen?” is the question being asked by this documentary that examines the relationship between Queen Elizabeth II and her northern realm. (60 minute documentary, 2022) 

Jubilee Pudding: 70 Years of Baking (CBC Network: 8 pm local time, 8:30 NT): a competition to find a baking recipe to mark the Platinum Jubilee (60 minute program, 2022)

GENERAL INFO ABOUT VIEWING IN CANADA

CBC News:

Details of programming above

Global News: 

Timing and live coverage TBA. 

“Global National’s special coverage will begin Thursday, June 2nd and will run through Sunday, June 5th.”

CTV News: 

Timing and live coverage TBA

BritBox Canada: 

Coverage TBA

The streaming service from the BBC and ITV regularly adds royal programming to its line-up